Engineers Australia plays an important role in promoting engineering excellence and the contribution engineering makes to the community.

The Australian Engineering Excellence Awards (AEEA) Sydney 2016 program seeks to identify, recognise and reward outstanding achievement in the practice of engineering and service to the profession.

The AEEA Sydney Awards 2016 is the premier event for the profession. The night promotes industry excellence across engineering projects and engineering professionals.

Winners announced

Bradfield Overall Project Award Winner

Dr Chau Chak Wing Building by Arup

President’s Award

Barangaroo Reserve by Aurecon and LendLease

Excellence Award Winners

Buildings and Structures
  • Dr Chau Chak Wing Building by Arup
  • 5 Martin Place by Aurecon
Control Systems, Networks, Information Processing and Telecommunications
  • Coherent Optical Measurement Systems by Finisar Australia
  • Macdonaldtown Gasworks Remediation by Ventia Utility Services Pty Ltd and Rail Corporation NSW
Innovation, Research and Development
  • Support Systems for the Submarine Escape Rescue System Hyperbaric Suite by H.I.Fraser Pty Ltd
Occupational Health and Safety
  • Robotic Bridge Inspector by Roads and Maritime Services, NSW and University of Technology Sydney
Products and Manufacturing Facilities
  • Lamb X-Ray Primal and Middle System by SCOTT Automation & Robotics and Meat & Livestock Australia
Project Infrastructure
  • North Strathfield Rail Underpass by WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff and Jacobs with support from Mott MacDonald
Project Management
  • Glenfield to Leppington Rail Line Project by Jacobs and Transport for NSW

High Commendation

Control Systems, Networks, Information Processing and Telecommunications
  • Robotic Bridge Inspector – A Revolutionary Solution to inspection and Condition Assessment of Steel Structures by University of Technology Sydney and Roads and Maritime Services, NSW
  • The Driftwells Park Project by Western Plains Regional Council
Innovation, Research and Development
  • Kanso - The Smart, Simple, Discreet off-the-ear Sound Processor by Cochlear Ltd and Blue Sky Design Group
Products and Manufacturing Facilities
  • The Development and Construction of the Nyngan and Broken Hill Solar Power Stations by Jacobs and AGL Energy Ltd
Project Infrastructure
  • Patrick Stevedores Port Botany Redevelopment Project by Fulton Hogan Construction Pty Ltd and Patrick Stevedores Operations No. 2 Pty Ltd
Project Management
  • Lake Endeavour Dam Strengthening and Security Upgrade by Parkes Shire Council
Small Business Ventures & Projects
  • FSS1 A Revolutionary Door Monitoring Sensor for High Security Applications by FSH Fire & Security Hardware Pty Ltd

Individual Award winners

  • Professional Engineer of the Year 2016: Prof Veena Sahajwalla HonFIEAust CPEng NER
  • Entrepreneur of the Year 2016: Dr Shane Geha FIEAust
  • Young Professional Engineer of the Year 2016: Jacquelyn Osborne GradIEAust
  • Engineering Technologist of the Year 2016: Johannes Swanepoel TMIEAust
  • Engineering Student of the Year 2016: Daniel John De Cataldo

Photo gallery

2016 Sydney Engineering Excellence Awards


Bradfield Award Sponsor

Office of the NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer

Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

     .SMEC Engineering  

Contact Us

Engineers Australia
National Events Team
02 9410 5613

Awards Trophy

Back to top