Engineers Australia plays an important role in promoting engineering excellence and the contribution engineering makes to the community.

The Australian Engineering Excellence Awards (AEEA) Victoria 2016 program seeks to identify, recognise and reward outstanding achievement in the practice of engineering and service to the profession.

The AEEA Victoria Awards 2016 is the premier event for the profession. The night promotes industry excellence across engineering projects and engineering professionals.

Winners Announced

Excellence Award Winners

Buildings and Structures

  •  Margaret Court Arena (Aurecon)

Innovation, Research and Development

  • Pioneer Commercial Graphene Production Plant (Austeng, and Imagine Intelligent Materials)

Products and Manufacturing Facilities

  • Reign of Kong Animatronic Figure (Creature Technology Company, and Universal Creative)

Project Infrastructure

  • Port Capacity Project - Roads and Services (BMD Constructions)

High Commendations

Buildings and Structures

  • MPavilion 2015 (Arup with AL_A, Shapeshift Technologies, Kane Constructions, MPavilion)
  • 323 Latrobe Street Melbourne – 44 Storey High Rise Prefabricated Modular Building (Hickory)

Control Systems, Networks, Information Processing and Telecommunications

  • Regional Passenger Information Display System for Public Transport (VicTrack)


  • Ammonia Management Improvement Project (Orica Australia Pty Ltd with thyssenkrupp Industrial Solutions (Australia) Pty Ltd)

Innovation, Research and Development

  • LGS – An Australian Innovative Geometry to Improve Uptime and Safety on Offshore Drilling Rigs (AMOG Technologies Pty Ltd)
  • Smart Structures: Corrosion Monitoring and Predicting for Safe and Efficient Maintenance (BAE Systems Australia with Defence Science and Technology Group)
  • The Multi-Axis Substructure Testing (MAST) System (Swinburne University of Technology)

Products and Manufacturing Facilities

  • Relocatable Truck Turntables (The Australian Turntable Company Pty Ltd)

Project Infrastructure

  • Jim Stynes Bridge (Aurecon)
  • Burke Road Level Crossing Removal Project (John Holland with Kellogg Brown & Root Pty Ltd, VicRoads, Public Transport Victoria, Metro Trains Melbourne, and Level Crossing Removal Authority)

Chief Judge’s Award

  • Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre (PPP) (Bonacci Group Pty Ltd)
  • Engineering Our Future: Latrobe City Council (Latrobe City Council)
  • VCCC – Supporting Cancer Research and Treatment through Mechanical Design (Lehr Consultants International (Aust) Pty Ltd)

Individual Award Winners

Young Associate Engineer of the Year

  • Robert Ladd AFIEAust CEngA EngExec NER

Young Professional Engineer of the Year

  • Esther Warren MIEAust CPEng
Associate Engineer of the Year

  •  Darren Green AFIEAust

Engineering Technologist of the Year

  • Michael Goodwin TFIEAust CEngT NER

Photo gallery

2016 Victoria Engineering Excellence Awards  

Contact Us

Engineers Australia
National Events Team
02 9410 5613

Awards Trophy

Back to top